Classic Thanksgiving Stuffing

IMG_5161

This stuffing is the absolute best stuffing I have ever had.  My Grandma has been making this stuffing for years and years and has passed the recipe down through our family.  We’ve had it at every Thanksgiving I can remember.  In recent years I have tried other recipes I saw on TV with different ingredients and such but they are just never as good as this one.  Everyone always asks where Grandma’s stuffing is!  So I finally wised up and started making two stuffings every year to make everyone happy.  All the eggs in the recipe make the stuffing super fluffy.  The ingredients are simple, but the flavor is just perfect.  Exactly what you want from a Thanksgiving stuffing.

Ingredients:
1 pound sliced white bread (22 slices)
1 small onion, diced
8 tablespoons salted butter
12 eggs
2 tsp salt
2 pinches of dried thyme
½ tsp black pepper
½ tsp garlic powder
2 tsp dried parsley

The night before you would like to make the stuffing remove the top crust from the bread and tear the bread into bite size pieces. Place the bread in a 9×13 baking dish and leave it uncovered overnight.  This will allow the bread to dry out a little so it can soak up the egg mixture the next day.

IMG_5154

Ok, so now its the next day and we are ready to make the stuffing!

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

Place the bread pieces in a large bowl.

Melt the stick of butter over medium low heat in a saute pan.  Add in the onion and cook until translucent.

Pour the cooked onions and butter in the bread bowl and mix well.  Crack in the eggs and mix very well, ensuring there aren’t any dry pieces of bread.  Add in the salt and spices and mix well.  Pour the mixture into a greased 9×13 baking dish.

IMG_5159

Now you are probably looking at this picture and thinking this looks strange.  Well, I decided to make half of the stuffing a bit more exciting (my 2 stuffing strategy)!  Before I poured the mixture into the baking dish I split the mix into 2 bowls.

One bowl I left alone, but in the other bowl I added a 1/2 pound sweet Italian sausage I cooked and 1 peeled, diced, and cooked Pink Lady apple.  I cooked these items in the same pan I sauteed the onion in.

I definitely recommend trying the sausage apple stuffing out.  It is so delicious and an awesome way to jazz up this incredible stuffing!

Bake the stuffing for 20-30 minutes until the top is golden and the center is fully cooked through.

Enjoy!

Printable Recipe

Classic Thanksgiving Stuffing

One thought on “Classic Thanksgiving Stuffing

Leave a Reply

