Asian Noodle Salad


Hi everyone!  I am finally back after a way-to-long hiatus and ready to get some great recipes to you all!

I am very excited to share this recipe with you, it is one of my favorites, and my current go-to lunch.  Lunch is always the most difficult meal for me because I need something decently healthy, tasty, and filling to get me through the rest of the work day.  And that can be a tall order.  I love this recipe because I prepare it at the beginning of the week and get at least 3-4 lunches out of it.  I always add a protein to it as well, my favorite being salmon (check out my awesome salmon recipe here), but shredded rotisserie chicken is easy and delicious, or tofu would be great as well.  It’s also a great way to use up any veggies you may have in the fridge; you can use mushrooms, cucumbers, carrots, really anything you like!  So make it your own!

Ingredients:

Peanut Sauce:
1 cup low sodium chicken broth
1/3 cup smooth peanut butter
2 tbsp honey
2 tbsp soy sauce
1 tbsp Sriracha chili sauce
1 tbsp freshly grated ginger
2 cloves garlic, minced or pressed

Salad:
½ package of rice noodles
1 cup shredded broccoli slaw
1 red bell pepper, julienned
2 cups cooked green beans
¼ cup peanuts, chopped

Start off by preparing the peanut sauce; combine all the sauce ingredients in a small sauce pan and simmer over medium-low heat for about 5-10 minutes, occasionally stirring.  The sauce should we well combined and smooth.

IMG_4659

I love that this sauce has fresh ginger in it.  I highly recommend buying a large piece at the grocery store and keeping it in a plastic bag in the freezer.  You can zest it frozen, use what you need, then put right back in the freezer until next time! 

While the sauce is simmering prepare the salad.
Start by cooking the rice noodles according to the package’s directions.  The brand I buy are very easy to cook; soak them in water that has come to boil for 5 minutes.

IMG_4660

Place the cooked and drained noodles into a large mixing bowl.  Using kitchen shears or a sharp knife, cut through the noodles a few times to create more manageable noodle strands.  Trust me, they are long if you don’t take this step!

IMG_4662

Prepare the other salad ingredients; slice the pepper, cook the green beans (I always steam up some frozen ones), and chop the peanuts.  The sauce should definitely be finished by now and look silky and beautiful.

IMG_4661

Pour the peanut sauce over the noodles and stir well.  Add in the rest of the salad ingredients and mix well again.

I prefer to eat this dish cold, but it could certainly be served warm.  And don’t forget to add your favorite protein!

Enjoy!

One thought on “Asian Noodle Salad

Leave a Reply

