Layered Rice Crispy Treats

First off, I would like to thank my amazingly talented friend, Kendall Rood, for designing my new blog header.  I love it, its perfect!  Thank you Kendall!

But are these treats not adorable?!  I absolutely love the colors and was so excited to see how easy this was to accomplish with the use of Peeps (I don’t love food coloring – I tend to stain more than I intended).  Get creative with these treats; use whatever colors you like and layer how you please!

Ingredients:
4 (4.5oz) packages of peeps in different colors
4 tablespoons butter
6 cups rice cereal

Over medium low heat melt 1 tablespoon of butter.

Once the butter is completely melted add in 10 of the same color peeps.

IMG_3908

Using a rubber spatula break them up and stir continuously.  It’s important to keep stirring so that the sugar doesn’t burn.

Almost there…

… And there, perfectly melted.  It took about two minutes to melt the peeps.

Add in a cup and a half of the rice cereal.

Stir until the cereal is fully coated and well mixed.  And if you have a non stick pot I definitely recommend using that!

Put the mixture into a loaf pan lined with parchment paper.  Over the sink spray your hands with cooking spray (its the only way to touch this stuff without it totally sticking to you!) and press the cereal down into the pan to form an even layer.

Now repeat this same process for the next 3 colors.  The other benefit of the non stick pan is that I didn’t even have to wash it out between different colors. If there was anything left in the pot I just wiped it out with a paper towel!

Here’s the green layer!

And the last layer of blue… Unfortunately I forgot to take a pic of the yellow layer but I’m sure you get it.

Once all the layers are pressed in, let this sit on the counter for 1-2 hours to fully cool.  After its cooled pull the loaf out using the pieces of parchment that are sticking out.  It should come right out of the pan.

Wow so pretty!

Now slice the pieces as wide as you like using a serrated knife.  I got 10 slices out of my loaf.

I then cut those slices in 3.  So I ended up with 30 treats.

Enjoy!

Printable recipe
Layered Rice Crispy Treats

Leave a Reply

