My first post…and Double Chocolate Peanut Butter Chip Cookies!

image

For a little over a year I’ve been dreaming of starting my own cooking blog – and today I have decided to take the plunge.

There is no specific plan for this blog – it is neither a healthy cooking blog nor fatty cooking blog, neither sweet nor savory… because that isn’t how I cook. I enjoy cooking all types of recipes and cuisines and would hate to restrict myself. So on this blog you can plan to see baked goods, savory dishes, desserts, easy recipes, more advanced recipes, healthy recipes, and recipes that we definitely should not eat everyday.

Of course I only plan on posting delicious things, but I also promise to focus on sharing techniques. Yes, I am not a trained chef (even though I have watched enough Food Network to qualify me!) but I definitely try to cook using proper technique to the best of my ability and that truly makes the difference; it will take your cooking to the next level.

I am not sure how often I will post, but when I do, I hope you enjoy my story and learn something new. But most importantly try out the recipe and make it for someone you love…or enjoy it all for yourself!

So since Valentine’s Day is around the corner I thought my double chocolate peanut butter chip cookies would be the perfect recipe to share.  These are a sure-fire way to your valentine’s heart…. or not and you eat the whole batch!  So what, who cares!

I will admit this is your basic double chocolate chip cookie recipe, but I have a secret ingredient.  During one of our standard lunch break strolls through Target, my friend Amanda and I came across something pretty special.  Chocolate peanut butter chips!  In all the years I have been baking I’ve never seen them, so obviously I bought them, and promised Amanda I would share some cookies with her.

NESTLÉ® TOLL HOUSE® DelightFulls™ Peanut Butter Filled Morsels
https://www.verybestbaking.com/products/11384/tollhouse/nestle-toll-house-delightfulls-peanut-butter-filled-morsels/

The first time I made the cookies I only used the chocolate peanut butter chips.  But after receiving some valuable input from my taste testers, I decided to add the classic semi-sweet chocolate chips to the batter as well.  And that did the trick.  These cookies are chocolaty and gooey with the perfect amount of peanut butter.  Trust me – make them.  Or even better – get someone to make them for you!

Ingredients:
2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 cup baking cocoa
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1 cup (2 sticks) salted butter, softened
3/4 cup sugar
1 cup packed brown sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract
2 large eggs, at room temperature
1 9oz bag chocolate peanut butter chips
1 cup (1/2 of 12oz bag) semi-sweet chocolate chips

So you should notice that in the ingredient list it calls for softened butter and room temperature eggs.  This step is crucial people!  If these ingredients are cold they will not properly combine, some weird science stuff will happen, and your cookies will be crumbly, in a bad way.  Google it if you need more on this, ’cause that’s all I got, sorry.  But this is true of all baking, so as annoying as it is, try to think ahead on this one and bring those ingredients to room temperature.  Trust me; trying to cream cold butter is much more annoying.

Anyways, once your ingredients are to room temp, preheat your oven to 375 degrees F.

Mix together the butter, brown sugar, and white sugar until it is completely combined and creamy.

IMG_3303

You can see that the butter and sugar have completely become one, and that’s because the butter was at room temperature.

Add in the vanilla, mix, then add in the eggs one by one being sure to fully incorporate the first egg before adding the second.

image

I scraped down the bowl after both eggs were added.
Add in the flour a half cup at a time being sure to fully incorporate before adding more flour.

Using a butter knife to level off your flour will ensure exact measurements.
Using a butter knife to level off your flour will ensure exact measurements.

Once all the flour is combined add in the cocoa powder, salt, and baking soda. Mix until well combined.

imageimage

Add in the chips and mix well.

image

image

On baking sheets lined with parchment paper (I always use parchment but these can be made right on the baking sheet – downside, then you have to wash them) spoon out rounded tablespoons of the dough (this will make “normal size” cookies). Be sure to leave enough space between the cookies as they will flatten. I decided to make really large cookies today so I could only fit 8 on a sheet, but when I have made these “normal size”  I fit 12-16 cookies on a sheet.

These are NOT rounded tablespoons of dough. They are more like the size of limes because I wanted large cookies.
These are NOT rounded tablespoons of dough. They are more like the size of limes because I wanted large cookies.

Place cookies on middle rack (middle rack ensures the bottoms do not burn) in the oven and bake for 8-10 minutes.  Since I made such large cookies mine had to cook longer.  The trick here is to just keep an eye on them.  Basically once they flatten and the tops no longer look raw, the cookies are done.

image

Transfer the cookies to a cooling rack to cool completely.

imageAnd that’s it!  I really hope you enjoy these!  And as a side note, if you microwave them for like 10-15 seconds they are irresistable!

image

Yields approx 4 dozen “normal size” cookies
Printable recipe
Double Chocolate Peanut Butter Chip Cookies

4 thoughts on “My first post…and Double Chocolate Peanut Butter Chip Cookies!

  1. You are not kidding when you say that microwaving them makes them even more irresistable! However, I find it’s so much better to eat one room temperature, while microwaving the second one so you don’t have to wait so long to eat these amazing cookies. Once you have one you will know what I’m talking about…the walk to the microwave has never seemed so long!

    Like

    1. Amanda, I have to disagree. Toaster oven is the way to go. Microwaving will melt the chocolate chips to quickly and alter the taste of the peanut butter. Fresh off the baking sheet is the only way to capture the true essence of Zandra’s Valentines Day treat!

      Like

      1. I hate to be the bearer of bad news, BA, but as usual you are wrong. As a mircowaving aficionado, microwaving the cookies for 7 seconds for the normal sized cookies/14 seconds for the larger ones perfectly melts the chips and brings the cookie to the optimal level of warmth. But we can probably both agree, the cookies are delicious any way you eat them!

        Like

Leave a Reply

